Morbi leo risus, porta ac consectetur ac, vestibulum at eros. Integer posuere erat a ante venenatis dapibus posuere velit aliquet. Duis mollis, est non commodo luctus, nisi erat porttitor ligula, eget lacinia odio sem nec elit. Sed posuere consectetur est at lobortis.
Tasmanian Racing Club
Race meetings are conducted at Luxbet Park Hobart in each month expect for the month of August. Highlights on the racing calendar include the Luxbet Hobart Cup Carnival. These racing events attract a wide interest from the public, media and industry.
The Hobart Cup Carnival (held in January/February) showcases the cream of racing champions from Tasmania and the mainland. This carnival has become an iconic event on the social calendar for Hobart and includes the Tasmanian Guineas, Hobart Guineas, the Schweppes Tasmanian Derby, Magic Millions Bow Mistress Stakes and the grand final event, the Luxbet Hobart Cup. The TRC also hosts many other feature racing events including Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup Day.
The Tasmanian Racing Club (TRC) was formed on 29 June, 1874 at the Rock Hotel 71 Elizabeth St, Hobart. Sir James Wilson was elected chair and it was moved “that it be desirable to form a club in Hobart Town to be called the Southern Tasmanian Turf Club”. The motion was carried; however, the name was only to survive until the next week. His Excellency the Governor (Sir Charles du Cane) was requested to become patron, with Sir James Wilson his deputy.
So there was an organisation and that was all. No racecourse, no bank account, no float. Conducting race meetings in Tasmania had always been a risky business because of the small population and generations of racing administrators since then have no reason to think otherwise. The committee met no less than six times in August 1874, nearly all of those meetings being given over to the question of the location of the course. There was no room for faint hearts. With determination and single-mindedness on part of the committee, the minutes record that, at a meeting on the 24 August, and still with no racecourse, “a two-day schedule was approved accounting £925” for the Summer Meeting.
It took them a while to find Elwick. The old course at New Town was first inspected, and found to be quite impractical. Then there were other possible options considered before Elwick was eventually seen as a viable option for a racecourse.
As the leading metropolitan race club in Tasmania, the TRC conducts 21 race meetings each year at the picturesque Luxbet Park Hobart.
The First Hobart Cup
Although 11 February 1875 was not a bank holiday, most businesses closed their doors for the afternoon. The Cup was a sweepstakes, in a format that is still used in some major races around the world. Including the English Derby. The race was over six miles and was won by four-your old mare Ella, owned by P.Lewis and ridden by W.Rawlings.
Tasmanian Racing Club
The Tasmanian Racing Club offers a range of wonderful dining and hospitality options. Enjoy sweeping views of the track whilst indulging in superb food, wine and the excitement of a flutter on the track. Sit back, relax and let our professional service staff look after you and your guests.